Published On: Mon, Jul 15th, 2019

EU charges taxpayer £1.8million for two commissioners who don’t have ANY work to do | World | News

Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker initially didn’t want to replace Estonia’s Andrus Ansip and Romania’s Corina Cretu after they left their posts to sit as MEPs after the European elections in May. But he was voted down by EU nations who said Mr Juncker must have 28 commissioners, to represent all members, until he steps down as the bloc’s most senior official on October 31.

He drafted in Kadri Simon from Estonia and Ioan Mircea Pascu for Romania, but decided not to give them any policy portfolios to oversee.

It means they will cost the taxpayer £1.8million to do nothing.

The Commission chief “decided not to allocate specific portfolios to the two commissioners-designate in view of the short remainder of the mandate”, according to his spokesman.

Mr Juncker required the unanimous backing from member states but ministers last week voted down the proposal.

Mr Pascu and Ms Simson are expected to take up their limited roles next week after consultations with the European Parliament.

The Commission spokesman added: “They will take part in collegiate activities and be able to participate in the project teams.”

Mr Juncker has handed Mr Ansip’s digital single market role to Maros Sefcovic, the Commission’s energy chief, and Ms Cretu’s regional policy portfolio was given to enlargement supremo Johannes Hahn.

Estonia’s Ms Simon looks set to join the Commission for the next five years under the expected leadership of Ursula von der Leyen.

But Romania will likely nominate a new permanent Commissioner with Mr Mircea Pașcu only holding the country’s spot until November.

MEPs will vote on Ms von der Leyen’s bid to become the next Commission president on Tuesday evening.

The German defence minister has struggled to convince every political group to support her campaign but Brussels insiders beleive she will garner enough votes.

She will need 364 votes in the secret ballot being held at the European Parliament in Strasbourg. 

Source link