Published On: Tue, Sep 10th, 2019

Brexit news: Scuffle breakouts as Remainers attempt to block proroguing of Parliament | Politics | News

Sarah Clarke, the Lady Usher of the Black Rod, invited MPs to the House of Lords to formerly attend the ceremony closing the Parliamentary session. A scuffle then broke out with one MP appearing to fall on the floor. Labour Co-op MP Alex Sobel tweeted: “The action taken by myself and other members to beseech Mr Speaker to not accede to Black Rod’s request echoes the action of members to try and prevent the speaker proroguing at the request of Charles I.

“Unfortunately we couldn’t pass any motions against Boris Johnson’s policies.”

Mr Bercow, who has announced he will stand down as Speaker had said as he prepared to leave the chair: “I will play my part, this is not, however, a normal prorogation, it is not typical, it is not standard.

“It’s one of the longest for decades and it represents not just in the minds of many colleagues but huge numbers of people outside, an act of executive fiat.

“Therefore, I quite understand, I’ve already aid that Black Rod, I respect and Black Rod is doing her duty and the Queen’s Commissioners are doing their duty and I will play my part.”

Scottish National Party MPs could be heard declaring “shame on you” as Mr Bercow left the Chamber.

Baroness Evans of Bowes Park, the leader of the House of Lords, outlined bills that have passed in this parliamentary session.

As the ceremony ended, Mr Bercow told MPs he will see them again soon and some shook his hand as they left.

Parliament will be suspended until October 14.

READ MORE: Boris Johnson blasts Brexit ‘yellow bellies’

“Holding him in the chair meant that he could not rise from his seat, and thus close the house.”

According to Oddschecker, Deputy Speaker Lindsay Hoyle (Labour) is favourite to become the new speaker.

He is followed by former Commons Leader Harriet Harman (Labour), Deputy Speaker Dame Eleanor Laing (Tory), former Europe Minister Chris Bryant (Labour) and 1922 Committee Acting Chairman Charles Walker (Tory).

Candidates for the speakership must receive twelve nominations, three of them from a different party to their own.

MPs conduct a secret ballot by putting an x down next to their candidate of choice.

If a candidate receives more than 50 percent of the vote, the House votes on whether or not they should be made Speaker.

The candidate with the least amount of votes and all the with less than five percent are eliminated.

The winner renounces all party political ties.

Mr Bercow became Speaker following an election triggered by the resignation of Michael Martin due to the expenses scandal.

The last speaker to be forced out by a motion of no confidence was Sir John Trevor for accepting a bribe to help through a bill in 1695.

Source link